Newnhamites featured in New Year Honours List

Professor Ottoline Leyser

Newnham is delighted to announce that the following Newnhamites were named as receiving awards in the New Year Honours List 2017:

Dr Claire Breay (NC 1987) – MBE – Order of the British Empire – Member of the Order of the British Empire. Head of Ancient, Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts, British Library. For services to Medieval History.

Professor Ottoline Leyser (NC 1983) – DBE – Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire – Director, The Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge. For services to Plant Science, Science in Society and Equality and Diversity in Science.

Dame Ottoline, pictured, said: “It’s so uplifting that things I really care about can be celebrated in this extraordinary way. Science has such a lot to offer the world, which makes it really important that science is open to all, so that everyone can contribute to the process and benefit from the results.”

Amanda Nobbs (NC 1979) – OBE -Order of the British Empire –Officer of the Order of the British Empire. Chair, Thames Regional Flood and Coastal Committee. For services to Flood and Coastal Risk Management and Environment Protection.

The Right Honourable Baroness Shirley Williams – (Honorary Fellow) – Companion of Honour – Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour for services to political and public life.

Photograph credit: Pari Naderi